The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John #3)

813 Fiction  [ Browse Items ]
Publication Year
Seven Years' War, 1756-1763 -- Fiction. Spies -- Fiction. 
Series Name

Lord John Grey--soldier, gentleman, and no mean hand with a blade--fights for his crown, his honor, and his own secrets. Set in the heart of the eighteenth century during the Seven Years' War. 
Publisher Comments
In a novel featuring Outlander hero Jamie Fraser in a major role, #1 bestselling author Diana Gabaldon continues the Lord John series.
Jamie Fraser, a Scottish Jacobite officer paroled as a prisoner of war on an estate in the Lake District, finds the numbness of his days disturbed. First, by dreams of his dead wife, then by the presence of the small son he cannot claim. Much more disturbing is the sudden reappearance in his life of Lord John Grey, with a summons that will take him - again - from everything he values.

A legacy from a dead friend has led Lord John and his brother Hal in pursuit of a corrupt army officer, along a trail of politics and murder. The matter becomes critical when the trail leads into Ireland, with a baffling message left in the tongue called "Erse" - the language spoken by Scottish Highlanders.

Jamie is forced to help the Greys, in order to guard his own secrets. But the Greys have secrets, too, which may deprive him of his life, as well as his liberty.

About the Author
DIANA GABALDON is the New York Times bestselling author of the popular Outlander novels - Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, and An Echo in the Bone - as well as the bestselling series featuring Lord John Grey, a character she introduced in Voyager, and one work of nonfiction, The Outlandish Companion. She won a 2006 Quill Award for her sixth Outlander book, A Breath of Snow and Ashes. 
Biblio Notes
Genre/Form: Historical fiction
Detective and mystery stories
Detective and mystery fiction
Detective and mystery stories, American
Fantasy fiction, American
Mystery fiction
Material Type: Fiction, Internet resource
Document Type: Book, Internet Resource
All Authors / Contributors: Diana Gabaldon
ISBN: 9780385337519 0385337515 9780345533494 0345533496 9781409130987 1409130983 0385337523 9780385337526
OCLC Number: 738360581
Description: xviii, 534 pages ; 22 cm
Contents: Acknowledgements --
Preface --
Prologue --
April fool --
Erse --
An Irishman, a gentleman --
Not good --
Why am not I at peace? --
Summoning --
When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life --
Debts of honor --
Eros rising --
Punch and Judy --
Vulgar curiosity --
The belly of a flea --
By darkness met --
Fridstool --
The return of Tobias Quinn --
Tower house --
Castle Athlone --
Fireside tales --
Quagmire --
Stalking horse --
A poultice for bruising --
Glastuig --
Plan b --
Clishmaclaver --
Escape from Athlone --
Opium dreams --
Loyalty and duty --
Amplexus --
The wild hunt --
Particular friends --
Betrayal --
Duello --
Billets-doux --
All heads turn as the hunt goes by --
Justice --
Teind --
Sole witness --
Redux --
The fog comes down --
Gambit --
A moonlicht flicht --
Point of departure --
Succession --
Author's notes.
Responsibility: Diana Gabaldon.  
Number of Copies


No reviews posted yet.


Please login to write a review.